April Virtual Concert

Apr 16, 2021

FRIDAY, APRIL16th @ 7:30PM
Mark your calendar for the finale of the Symphony's 2020-21 Metamorphosis virtual season! The ISCS musicians, comprised of ISU music faculty and students and Pocatello community members, under the direction of Maestra Julie Sorensen, are preparing a true musical treat for the live FREE final concert of the season.
Check back here for the concert link on April 16th.
Find streaming tips for various devices here.

The April concert features:

  • Lake Summit After Stravinsky: Prelude for Chamber Orchestra, Mark Petering (b. 1973).   This contemporary piece, composed in 2001, features our talented string players but also presents live woodwinds, percussion, brass and piano.

  • Idyla, Leos Janacek (1854-1928). Idyla is one of the Czech composer's earlier pieces, composed and successfully premiered in 1878, when he was just 24-years-old. The seven movement score for strings explores many moods and musical idioms.

  • Divertissement, Jacques Ibert (1890-1962). Divertissement, or "Entertainment", is aptly named. This charming piece, which premiered in Paris in 1930, includes strings, woodwinds, brass, percussion and piano. Listen for the whistle in this mad caper!



Dr. L. Otto MD & L. Spencer-Smith


© Idaho State Civic Symphony 2021